News & Events

You are here

Congratulations to the 2018 Marshall Prize co-winners, Harlan Campbell and Eric Fu!

The Departmental Awards Committee is pleased to announce that the co-winners of the 2018 Marshall Prize are Eric Fu and Harlan Campbell. Their PhD supervisors are respectively Nancy Heckman and Paul Gustafson. Eric defended his PhD thesis in February and Harlan will be defending soon. Both have accomplished independent research in their theses with several published and/or submitted papers.

Eric contributed a lot to the Department as graduate representative, TA and WebWork developer for many courses, and statistical consultant in ASDa and the Short-Term Consulting Service. Eric is now working in the pharmaceutical industry.

Harlan will have completed his PhD program in less than four years. He also taught an undergraduate course during the 2017-2018 academic year.

Congratulations to Eric and Harlan!

The prize honours Professor Emeritus Albert Marshall for his scholarly contributions and his role in establishing the Department of Statistics at UBC. It is awarded to Statistics graduate students who have achieved great distinction. See

April 9, 2019