Our Department

You are here

Schwartz Prize

In memory of Dr. Lorraine Schwartz, Assistant Professor in the Department of Mathematics from 1960-1965, her friends and colleagues established this prize in 1966. It is awarded annually for distinctions in the fields of statistics and probability to an undergraduate or graduate student upon the recommendation of the Departments of Mathematics and Statistics.

Dr. Schwartz received her PhD from the University of California, Berkeley, in1960, working with Professor Lucien Le Cam, with a thesis entitled "Consistency of Bayes' Procedures".   She then took a position at UBC where she remained until her untimely death.  However even in her brief career, she made seminal contributions to her field in published research papers that are still cited today.  Her publication list includes the following journal articles.

  • Schwartz, L and Wearden, S.  (1959).  A distribution-free asymptotic method of estimating, testing and setting confidence limits for heritability.   Biometrics 15: 227-235.
  • LeCam, L. and Schwartz, L.  (1960).  A necessary and sufficient condition for the existence of consistent estimates.  Annals of Mathematical Statistics 31: 140-150.
  • Brieman, L, Schwartz, L, and LeCam, L.  (1964).  Consistent estimates and zero-one sets.  Annals of Mathematical Statistics 35: 157-161.
  • Schwartz, L.  (1964).  On consistency of Bayes procedures.  Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 52:  46-49.
  • Schwartz, L (1965).  On Bayes procedures.  Probability Theory and Related Fields 4: 10-26.

This award is usually announced in May Year+1.


Recipient's Name Year Recipient's Category Program News Item
Stephen Cheng 1981 Undergraduate
Stephen Shuen 1981 Undergraduate
Robert McGlaire 1980 Undergraduate
Harry Joe 1979 Graduate
Yoshimi Onoue 1978 Undergraduate
Amanda Nemec 1977 Graduate
Felisa Tan 1976 Graduate
Nancy Reid 1975 Graduate
Lawrence Chen 1974 Graduate
Adrian Belshaw 1973 Undergraduate
Julian Leong 1972 Undergraduate
Jennifer Edwards 1971 Undergraduate
Patrick Powell 1970 Undergraduate
Anthony Buckland 1969 Undergraduate
James Finlay 1968 Undergraduate
John Brewster 1966 Undergraduate