Our Department

You are here

Marshall Prize

This cash prize with accompanying certificate honours Professor Albert Marshall for his seminal work in the theory of statistical reliability and for his contributions to the development of statistics at UBC. The prize is normally awarded annually to a statistics graduate student who has achieved great distinction according to the professional and academic criteria by which members of our discipline are judged. The criteria for this award would include proficiency in statistical theory and in the practical application of statistical theory. The award is usually given in the first quarter of the year.

Professor Marshall came to UBC in 1975 to become a Professor of Statistics in the Department of Mathematics. By then he had already completed much of the work in reliability for which he is internationally known. A lot of that work was done while he was employed by Boeing along with a group of other distinguished statistical scientists researching reliability.

He has and continues to publish extensively, and he invented, with Professor Ingram Olkin, the well-known Marshall–Olkin exponential distribution. Among other things, their fruitful collaboration yielded a text on majorization called "Inequalities: Theory of Majorization and Its Applications," which has become a much-cited classic.

He has been widely recognized outside of UBC for his scholarly achievements. At UBC, Professor Marshall was instrumental in establishing the Department more than a decade ago and served as its Acting Head in the first year of its existence. His active research career continues, and he is now a Professor Emeritus in the Department.

The award, established in 1994, is supported by the Statistics Fund for Excellence.


Recipient's Name Year Recipient's Category Program News Item
Joe Watson 2019 Graduate Joe Watson receives the 2019 Marshall Prize
Harlan Campbell 2018 Graduate Congratulations to the 2018 Marshall Prize co-winners, Harlan Campbell and Eric Fu!
Eric Fu 2018 Graduate Congratulations to the 2018 Marshall Prize co-winners, Harlan Campbell and Eric Fu!
Tanja Högg 2017 Graduate Marshall Prize: Congratulations, Tanja Högg!
Yang (Seagle) Liu 2016 Graduate Yang (Seagle) Liu Receives Marshall Prize
Andy Leung 2015 Graduate
Vivian Meng 2014 Graduate
Camila de Souza 2013 Graduate
Ardavan Saeedi 2012 Graduate
Liangliang Wang 2012 Graduate
Luke Bornn 2011 Graduate
Corinne Riddell 2011 Graduate
Eric (Shing) Fu 2010 Graduate
Kenneth (Chi Ho) Lo 2009 Graduate
Hui Shen 2008 Graduate
Jochen Brumm 2007 Graduate
Jean-François Plante 2007 Graduate
Lawrence McCandless 2006 Graduate
Rachel MacKay 2002 Graduate
Ryan Woods 2000 Graduate