Our Department

Nash Medal

The Nash Medal in Statistics is given each year to the most outstanding graduating student in the B.Sc. program in Statistics.  The Medal recognizes the great service to statistics given by Professor Stanley Nash (1915-2001) over his more than forty years at UBC. 

Professor Nash came to UBC in 1950 just after finishing his Ph.D. in statistics at Berkeley. For a great many years, he was the only statistician on the campus and so established himself as the statistical expert. Professor Nash kept an electrical calculator on his desk and rendered consulting advice and service to generations of students and faculty at UBC. He maintained an active interest in the developments which eventually led to the creation of the Statistical Society of Canada. For that and his other contributions to the development of the statistical sciences, Professor Nash was awarded an honorary membership in the Statistical Society of Canada in 1987.

The Department's Nash Medal, established in 1994, is supported by the Statistics Fund for Excellence.

This award is usually announced in May Year+1.


Recipient's Name Year Recipient's Category Program News Item
Yihang He 2023 Undergraduate 2023-24 Nash Medal in Statistics Awarded to Yihang He
Tiange (Ivy) Liu 2022 Undergraduate Tiange (Ivy) Liu receives this year's Nash Medal
Ruijie (Richard) Hou 2021 Undergraduate Ruijie (Richard) Hou receives Nash Medal
Sherry (Yu) Zhang 2020 Undergraduate Sherry (Yu) Zhang receives the 2020 Nash Medal
Naitong Chen 2019 Undergraduate Naitong Chen receives Nash Medal
Huaiwen Dong 2018 Undergraduate Huaiwen Dong receives this year’s Nash Medal
Shuxian Fan 2017 Undergraduate
Janet Lam 2016 Undergraduate Janet Lam receives Nash Medal
Ran Wang 2015 Undergraduate 2015 Nash Medal in Statistics Awarded to Ran Wang
Chen Tian Qi (Ricky) 2014 Undergraduate 2014 Nash Medal Winner - Tian Qi (Ricky) Chen
Jonathan Zhang 2013 Undergraduate 2013 Stanley W. Nash Medal Recipient- Jonathan Zhang
Ken Lau 2012 Undergraduate 2012 Stanley W. Nash Medal Recipient- Ken Lau
Jonathan Baik 2011 Undergraduate
Andy Leung 2010 Undergraduate
Dongxu Wang 2009 Undergraduate
Hao (Eric) Peng 2008 Undergraduate
Samuel Wong 2007 Undergraduate
Wai Man Chan 2006 Undergraduate
Yue Virginia Chen 2005 Undergraduate
Fei Yuan 2004 Undergraduate